|The Zimmerman Hotel, conveniently located across the street from the railway station, 1905. Western Development Museum photo, 3-A-35|
Radisson’s first and only hotel was built in 1905 on the corner of Railway Avenue and Main Street by Joseph and Ella Zimmerman. The couple had previous hotel experience. In 1901, Joseph worked as a bartender in Indian Head, Northwest Territories (now Saskatchewan). When the village of Radisson was founded in 1905 - the year the railroad arrived - the Zimmermans saw an opportunity. They moved their young and growing family to the town, located on Highway 16 between Saskatoon and North Battleford, and built the hotel. First called the Zimmerman Hotel, the hotel’s name changed to the Queen’s Hotel in 1906.
|Zimmerman Hotel, c 1912 Source|
The original plans called for a two-storey building, however a third storey was added. It had a full and very solid stone basement. By 1911, the Zimmerman’s five children between the ages of 5 and 10 must have enjoyed living in the spacious hotel, with its large lobby on the main floor. On the second floor, hotel guests gathered in the parlour to enjoy the piano and the library, which was stocked with books donated by local residents. Thomas Craig, the hotel manager, set up a “sample room” for commercial travelers to display their wares to local business owners.
|The Queen’s Hotel bar prior to 1915. From Reflections of Radisson, 1982|
|Radissson Hotel, May 2006. Joan Champ photo|
|Joan Champ photo|
|The beverage room at the Radisson Hotel, May 2006. Joan Champ photo|
View Larger Map